Thrift Shopping: A Love Story

5 Feb

Raysha Duncan, Financial Aid Administrator & Purdue Alumna
www.purdue.edu/mymoney

arrow sign saying second hand

Like Macklemore, I proudly declare my love of thrift shopping every chance I get. I get an incredibly proud feeling when all of the clothes I’m wearing were bought at roughly 1/16 of the price that they were in the store. I don’t go as crazy as Macklemore in his all pink get-up “except his gator shoes, those are green”. But I have morphed my style to a conglomeration of what I can buy at Goodwill. I call it thrift-store chic.

Being thrift-store-chic, I now wear a lot of skirts, buy clothes in a variety of sizes without regard for size, and spend way less on the clothes in my closet than I would have at retail prices. Thrift shopping involves a lot more creativity, flexibility, and open-mindedness with your wardrobe and with everything you buy there in general (I buy everything at Goodwill: clothes, shoes, furniture, you name it.)

I also love thrift shopping for home décor and necessities (I pretty much just love thrift shopping in general, if you can’t tell). However, if you have specific things you’re looking for, then thrift shopping can be a challenge sometimes. Some helpful tips and planning can counter this challenge! And other times you can find just what you’re looking for. I picked up my kitchen table (and its four chairs) at a Goodwill “½ Off Saturday” for only $40. And it’s a nice looking table too. Even more recently, I picked up a love seat for my living room for $20, and it sits next to my free couch that a girl from church gave me. That couch brings up another great thrifty resource: your community. Always keep your ears open for people getting rid of old things or holding garage sales (and maybe if you’re buddies they’ll give you first dibs!).

One of the best things about thrift shopping in this day and age is Pinterest. I have gotten so many ideas from Pinterest that I then make a reality. By using what I’ve learned through Pinterest and the inspiration it’s given me, I’m able to make my Goodwill shopping experience so much more fun and worthwhile. With all the DIY tutorials out there on re-purposing and re-using things, not to mention the thrift shopping tutorials, it’s impossible to not get into the thrift shopping spirit.

Do you have a love of thrift shopping too? Any great tips you’d like to share? Let us know in the comments!

3 Responses to “Thrift Shopping: A Love Story”

  1. upsidediy February 5, 2015 at 4:45 PM #

    Thrift stores are awesome! Wish I had time to go.

    Like

    • MyMoneyPurdue February 9, 2015 at 10:51 AM #

      You definitely have to have time when you go to thrift store! There’s no such thing as a quick trip to the thrift store 🙂

      Thanks for reading!

      Like

      • upsidediy February 9, 2015 at 1:06 PM #

        I know! 😀 I used to peruse them years ago. Life has a way of getting in the way. So many great treasures just waiting to be found! 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

